Women's Lacrosse

Kayla Treanor named 1 of 5 Tewaaraton Award finalists for 3rd straight year

Jessica Sheldon | Photo Editor

Kayla Treanor helped the Orange beat Stony Brook on Sunday before being named a Tewaaraton Award finalist for the third consecutive season.

Syracuse attack Kayla Treanor was named as one of the five Tewaaraton Award finalists on Sunday — an award given to best player in college lacrosse. It’s the third straight year that the Treanor has been named a finalist. She has never won the award.

Maryland’s Taylor Cummings has won the award each of the last two seasons. Cummings and Treanor are joined by Notre Dame’s Barbara Sullivan, the Terrapins’ Alice Mercer and Florida’s Nicole Graziano.

Treanor finished the regular season tied for 11th in points with 84 (46 goals and 38 assists). She broke the record for the most career goals in Syracuse history, with 256 and counting.

This season, Treanor became the lead draw control specialist for SU this season. In her first game, she broke the single-game draw control record for a Syracuse player with 19. Her 189 draw controls in the regular season led the country and set a school record.

Treanor’s work this season earned her the Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year Award for the third straight season. She’s the first player to ever win three straight years.

No. 4 seed Syracuse (18-5, 5-2 Atlantic Coast) used a four-goal second half run to comeback and avoid the upset against Stony Brook (17-4, 6-0 America East), winning 7-6 in the second round of the NCAA tournament on Sunday afternoon. The Orange will host fifth-seeded Southern California on May 21 at 3 p.m.



Top Stories